Introduction to Websites

Oct. 1

Unlike most, I do not have a personal website, I am not on academia.edu and I do not have a LinkedIn profile. On facebook, my first and last name are both shortened, so I can only be found by people who know me by my nickname. However, after these readings, I definitely see the importance behind creating an academic and networking presence on the Internet. Posting papers, academic interests, and most importantly, a resume, can definitely do more good than harm online. I have always been hesitant because of the uncertainties that there are on the internet in terms of identity manipulation and future employers impression, but having a website could be a very good idea. As Cordell states, it’s a professional presence, and thus a very proper one on the internet. And as an aspiring academic, he states that it is crucial for networking around the world. I do not think I will bring my presence to twitter and ‘tweet’ daily, but I will definitely look into the creation of a LinkedIn profile and definitely an academic websites. Furthermore, the idea of having my papers online is a fantastic one – especially for people who might be doing research in the field I am interested in.

Professor Hacker definitely emphasizes the boundaries that should be adhered to when having an online presence. Articles of interest, historians of my field etc. would be perfect on an academic webpage/profile of mine. Hacker also notes the importance of the professional space that needs to be maintained online. You should present yourself online as you would for an interview – and this is what I have always been taught to do since a young age, even with a facebook profile. Always be careful what you post. I do not however think I would go so far as following Google Alerts of myself. I am not that interesting in what people are looking up when they type in my name. To that extent, I feel as if it’s an invasion of privacy for both myself and the searcher – I would rather not know.

I have always been a fan of websites and web design. Throughout my undergraduate years, I made multiple websites on Wix, one of my favorite tools to create terrific-looking websites. I am very picky about clarity, cohesion, and visualization on websites. I am the first to judge a website based on its appearance and understandability. Particularly with historical websites. They must look professional, reliable, and easy to cite. If there is not enough information for me to properly cite a website (author, date, etc.) then I will not use it or rely on it for information. With these websites such as Wix, you do not have to program at all, and if you choose to, you can Google how to program what you want, and it is very easy to change things to your liking. Thus, web design and creation are very easy tools – and they could be of great use for an academic website of mine, if I decide to create one.

Leave a Reply

